Week 4: Artist Interview

For this week, I had the pleasure of interviewing Maccabee Shelley. Shelley’s art is composed from many different styles of glass molding. There were a number of pieces which bring different kinds of glass whether it be from soda bottles or recycled glass. He prefers not to use title for his art as he wants you to tell your own story when you look at his art. In this case one of his art pieces reminded a bit of my childhood when I saw different kinds of sea glass on display along with some molded soda bottles. In my childhood I would spend a lot of time fishing with my father and I would often see this kind of glass molded by the ocean in different types of shapes and colors. I really enjoyed most of Shelley’s art because I could easily relate to the artwork and it took me back to a simpler time in my life.

IMG_2291 IMG_2292

Leave a Reply

