Week 8: Artist Interview

As the weeks go by I find it more and more interesting to observe such unique pieces of art and be able to talk directly to the artists themselves. For this week the work of Mark Rissman caught my attention. His work included various photos of data centers photographed by Taryn Simon. He described these centers as vital to our world since they hold some of our most precious data such as websites, company info, and cloud storage. I personally enjoyed not just the significance of the data centers but the architectural beauty that went into creating them. Now I am sure that that was not the purpose of the exhibit but as an engineering student it is what I mainly noticed when observing the exhibit. I personally enjoyed one of the structures that had such a modern design that I would have never guessed that it was used to store data. Now I’m sure that I missed the artist’s point in framing these photos but as an engineering student I tend to notice the more logical and structural qualities of an art piece. IMG_3069

Leave a Reply

